Fiordland Tourism Award Winners


In 2015 the recipients of the Tourism Personality award and AWS Legal Tourism Operator awards were put forward via nomination to a committee made up of Destination Fiordland Board members to make the final selection. As always, it was a tough choice for the panel to select the winners from the many nominations received.

Wayne and Ann Carran were selected Fiordland Tourism Personalities of the Year 2015 for their contribution to tourism in Fiordland.  Over the past 32 years they have worked tirelessly to ensure a safe passage to Milford Sound along the Te Anau to Milford Highway for all road users.  They have made an outstanding commitment in terms of their dedication to the task, often working long hours and weekends.  In 2008 they received the Queen’s Service Medal for services to conservation, particularly recognising their work in Fiordland looking after the Milford Road and their work in developing the Milford Road Avalanche Programme.

Grant Yorkstone presented the AWS Legal Fiordland Tourism Operator of the Year 2015 award to Radfords on the Lake. Winners of the AA Supreme Host of Year award in 2013 and finalists in 2015 Kerri and Steve James are deserved winners.  Their property boasts a Qualmark 5 star rating and Qualmark Enviro Silver Award and they are also in the Trip Advisor 2015’s Hall of Fame which is granted to businesses that have won a Certificate in Excellence five years in a row.  Distinction Te Anau Hotel & Villas, Fiordland Outdoor Company, Fiordland iSITE and Go Orange were the other finalists in the AWS Legal Fiordland Tourism Operator of the Year Award, proving the high standards throughout all levels and sectors of tourism provision in the region.

The guest speaker for the event was Todd Barclay MP for Clutha/Southland.

Other awards given out for the evening were the Bradley Cup– Excellence in Retail Award, presented by Ken Bradley This year’s winners were Diane Holmes & Phil Allport at the Lakeside Service Centre.  Diane and Phil are fairly new to Te Anau and their business provides a valuable service to Te Anau residents and visitors with a petrol station, workshop, general convenience store and rental services.

Tony Austin from the Fiordland branch of MANZ presented the MOTEL ASSOCATION SERVICE PLUS AWARD 2015 to Alistair Jukes.  Now retired and residing in Winton, Alistair was heavily involved in the Te Anau community, conservation and local politics for many years. 

First established in 1977 the Fiordland Tourism Awards were originally initiated by the Fiordland Branch of an organisation called the National Travel Association. It was decided that it would be beneficial to the local tourism industry to have an annual gathering that celebrated tourism in the region and which also acknowledged those from the community who had made contributions towards industry promotion. The Tourism Personality of the Year Award has been celebrated annually since 1977 making it one of New Zealand’s longest running industry awards.